Author Topic: 10/100 ethernet cards vs. intergrated  (Read 1030 times)

Offline dannjr

• Main Certifiable NutcAsE
  • Administrator Nut
  • Certifiable Nut
  • Share your life. Be a organ donor other Bday 1998
    • DSLnuts | Broadbandnuts | Cablenut
Re:10/100 ethernet cards vs. intergrated
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2003, 11:32:57 pm »
thanks
I guess either a card or onboard would be ok for a new computer, maybe the difference is not that noticeable?

I'm kind of new to all of this and now you guys have gotten me more confused LOL
To me On board is still a little warm to run under CPU cycles. this is why I still prefure the PCI card.
NOT to meantion the recent complaints on overclock sites about all the build on stuff the MB makers are putting on.
Me loves $7 to $9 realtech cards or 3com or Dlink and I think a Dlink as of late may even be faster in the long run over 3com.
If your board came reltech on it your probably ok and why not blow it up before you buy a new card  ;D
Be a Organ Donor. A chance at life.
This site never spams or sells its list to anyone. No pop up's or scams
An inconvenience, but if you want to make omelettes, you have to break some eggs.

Offline Micro

• Moderator Nut
  • Certifiable Nut
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2003, 05:53:26 am »
To me On board is still a little warm to run under CPU cycles. this is why I still prefure the PCI card.

Clarify?
The same chip is used "on-board" or on a separate card in 90% of the MBs, cpu cycle usage is the same  ???
It's not like they're software modems or anything  :(

NOT to mention the recent complaints on overclock sites about all the build on stuff the MB makers are putting on.

They'd complain if you hung 'em with a new rope.
'Course then again they have NO idea what stability is or actually doing anything other than useless benchmarking is.