Author Topic: 98 & ME 56K Tweaks  (Read 1562 times)

Offline mnosteele

  • Dr Tweak
  • Administrator Nut
  • Certifiable Nut
  • *****
  • Posts: 2353
  • Gender: Male
  • Dr Tweak
    • www.drtweak.com
98 & ME 56K Tweaks
« on: February 16, 2002, 07:21:36 am »
1. First and most important make sure you have the latest drivers for your modem, from the manufacturer.

2. Open modem properties in Control Panel and under advanced port settings slide both all the way to the right.

3. Set maximum port speed to 115,2000.

4. Open Internet Options in IE and under temp internet files - settings select - Every visit to page.

5. Under extra settings (where init strings go) put in s11=55 or s10=60 if you have drop outs.

6. Make sure you have a good "clean" phone line, the #1 reason 56K modems don't connect at a good transfer rate is static on your phone line, and remember your throughput is more important than what your connection says it is connected at. If you are connected between 44,000 - 50,000 that is as good as it gets (you are limited to 53,333 by the FCC)

7. Download Cablenut and put in the following settings:

BcastNameQueryCount - 1
BcastQueryTimeout - 100
BSDUrgent - 1
CacheTimeout - 600000
DefaultRecvWindow - 8760
DefaultTTL - 128
EnableDNS - 0
GlobalMaxTcpWindoSize - 8760
KeepAliveInterval - 500
KeepAliveTime - 14400000
Lanabase - 0
LocalCopyMade - 1
MaxConnections - 64
MaxConnectRetries - 5
MaxDataRetries - 64
NameTableSize - 255
NameSrvQueryTimeout - 100
PMTUBlackHoleDetect - 0
PMTUDiscovery - 1
RoutingBufSize - 146432
RoutingPackets - 100
SackOpts - 1
SessionKeepAlive - 7200
SessionTableSize - 255
Size/Small/Medium/Large - 3
Tcp1323Opts - 0
TcpTimedWaitDelay - 30
MaxDupAcks - 2
DefaultTOS - 92
IGMPLevel - 2
MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server - 8
MaxConnectionsPerServer - 4

Leave all other boxes blank, select save to registry and reboot.

8. Open your registry (start - run - type regedit) and change the following registry entries:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Class\Net\000X (where X is a number between 1 and 9)there is a value named SLOWNET, change it from 01 to 00.
 
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\COMBUFF it has a value called Start, change its value from 00 to 01.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\VCACHE, it has a value named Start, change it from 00 to 01.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\PriorityControl (if PriorityControl is not there, make the value) - on the right hand side right click and select new DWORD value, name it IrqXPriority (X = Irq assigned to your modem), then right click it and select modify and give it a decimal value of 1.

9. Open your sys.ini file (start - run -sysedit - ME type system.ini) close the boxes until you are at the one with the title C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI, under [386enh] add the line ComXXIrqXXbuffer=4096, XX=Com port your modem is on and Irq assigned to your modem, it should look like Com03Irq07buffer=4096. Then select file - save and reboot to take effect.

10. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\VxD\MSTCP\ServiceProvider

On the right for ALL OS's change these entries: (ALL values are HEXIDECIMAL)

Class 01 00 00 00
dns priority 01 00 00 00
hostspriority 01 00 00 00
localpriority 01 00 00 00
netbtpriority 01 00 00 00

The most important thing to remember about dial up is that the maximum you can download ANYTHING under absolute perfect conditions is 6.7kb/s, so don't be frustrated with your speed, remember it is only 56K (actually 53333). To understand a little better, most dial up connections have a connect speed of somewhere in the mid 40K range, which is very good, so say you connect at 48000, to find your maximum throughput divide that by 8 which gives you 6kb/s, which actually very good for dial up. The tweaks I have provided will help you maximize that throughput as best possible, don't expect super speeds by tweaking your dial up, be happy if you aregetting 6kb/s.


 ;D ;D ;) :)


EDITED 05/16/02




« Last Edit: September 22, 2002, 05:19:18 pm by mnosteele »
AMD Phenom II X4 Black Edition 3.2, WD Raptor 150GB, 8GB Crucial RAM, Win 7 Ultimate

Offline hayc59

  • Moderator Nut
  • Certifiable Nut
  • *****
  • Posts: 1884
  • Gender: Male
  • VoodØØ Child™
    • Outpost Firewall
Re: 98 & ME 56K Tweaks
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2002, 07:53:56 pm »
i have a question for you mnosteele
i have win 98se but i have cable @attbi
should that number be 4096 or the bigger number which
right now i can't remember??
cause right now it is 4096 and if that is incorrect i want to change it!!!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 pm by 1018328400 »
9.11.01
'Never Forget'


Microsoft® MVP Consumer Security 2007-09

Offline mnosteele

  • Dr Tweak
  • Administrator Nut
  • Certifiable Nut
  • *****
  • Posts: 2353
  • Gender: Male
  • Dr Tweak
    • www.drtweak.com
Re: 98 & ME 56K Tweaks
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2002, 08:38:22 pm »
If you are using the ComXXIrqXXbuffer=4096 for 56K, that would be correct - 4096, too large of a buffer for dial up can have reverse effects. As for the NIC buffer for broadband use 7168. ;) :)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 pm by 1018328400 »
AMD Phenom II X4 Black Edition 3.2, WD Raptor 150GB, 8GB Crucial RAM, Win 7 Ultimate

Offline hayc59

  • Moderator Nut
  • Certifiable Nut
  • *****
  • Posts: 1884
  • Gender: Male
  • VoodØØ Child™
    • Outpost Firewall
Re: 98 & ME 56K Tweaks
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2002, 09:11:00 pm »
i have a ethernet card Linksys
with atbi.com so the higher number would apply?
just go into sysini and delte the old number and add the new one ...right?? thanks.... :crazy:
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 pm by 1018328400 »
9.11.01
'Never Forget'


Microsoft® MVP Consumer Security 2007-09