Author Topic: Just got a cable modem - tweak time!  (Read 1769 times)

Offline 99RedSi

  • A New Nut
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • I'm a llama!
Just got a cable modem - tweak time!
« on: September 27, 2002, 04:43:05 pm »
Hi -

I just bought a cable modem and setup service.

ISP:  Insight Communications
Cable Modem:  Motorola SURFboard SB4200

Celeron 464/128MB RAM

Anything else I need to add??  I want the maximum settings I can get! :)

Thanks!

Offline mnosteele

  • Dr Tweak
  • Administrator Nut
  • Certifiable Nut
  • *****
  • Posts: 2353
  • Gender: Male
  • Dr Tweak
    • www.drtweak.com
Re:Just got a cable modem - tweak time!
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2002, 04:44:26 pm »
Welcome to the forums 99RedSi ;D. What OS are you using and what are your ISPs caps? ;D ;)
AMD Phenom II X4 Black Edition 3.2, WD Raptor 150GB, 8GB Crucial RAM, Win 7 Ultimate

Offline 99RedSi

  • A New Nut
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Just got a cable modem - tweak time!
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2002, 04:45:22 pm »
Sorry!  I have Windows 98 Second Edition.

I'm not sure what ISPs CAPs are :(

Offline mnosteele

  • Dr Tweak
  • Administrator Nut
  • Certifiable Nut
  • *****
  • Posts: 2353
  • Gender: Male
  • Dr Tweak
    • www.drtweak.com
Re:Just got a cable modem - tweak time!
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2002, 04:51:14 pm »
OK first you need to install the vtcp 386 patch it looks like your download cap is 3000 kilobits, so try the following settings:

BcastNameQueryCount - 1
BcastQueryTimeout - 100
BSDUrgent - 1
CacheTimeout - 600000
DefaultRecvWindow - 64240
DefaultTTL - 64
EnableDNS - 0
GlobalMaxTcpWindoSize - 64240
KeepAliveInterval - 500
KeepAliveTime - 14400000
Lanabase - 0
LocalCopyMade - 1
MaxConnections - 64
MaxConnectRetries - 5
MaxDataRetries - 64
NameTableSize - 255
NameSrvQueryTimeout - 100
PMTUBlackHoleDetect - 0
PMTUDiscovery - 1
RoutingBufSize - 146432
RoutingPackets - 100
SackOpts - 1
SessionKeepAlive - 7200
SessionTableSize - 255
Size/Small/Medium/Large - 3
Tcp1323Opts - 0
TcpTimedWaitDelay - 30
MaxDupAcks - 2
DefaultTOS - 92
IGMPLevel - 2
MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server - 20
MaxConnectionsPerServer - 10
 :) ;D

« Last Edit: September 27, 2002, 04:51:28 pm by mnosteele »
AMD Phenom II X4 Black Edition 3.2, WD Raptor 150GB, 8GB Crucial RAM, Win 7 Ultimate

Offline 99RedSi

  • A New Nut
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Just got a cable modem - tweak time!
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2002, 05:00:42 pm »
 :o :o :o :o :o

HOLY COW!  WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


THANKKKKKKKKKKKKKK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  ;D  ;D  ;D

Offline mnosteele

  • Dr Tweak
  • Administrator Nut
  • Certifiable Nut
  • *****
  • Posts: 2353
  • Gender: Male
  • Dr Tweak
    • www.drtweak.com
Re:Just got a cable modem - tweak time!
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2002, 05:03:40 pm »
Glad it helped.... we aim to please. ;D ;D 8)
AMD Phenom II X4 Black Edition 3.2, WD Raptor 150GB, 8GB Crucial RAM, Win 7 Ultimate

Offline dannjr

  • Main Certifiable NutcAsE
  • Administrator Nut
  • Certifiable Nut
  • *****
  • Posts: 6339
  • Gender: Male
  • Share your life. Be a organ donor other Bday 1998
    • DSLnuts | Broadbandnuts | Cablenut
Re:Just got a cable modem - tweak time!
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2002, 02:32:03 am »
Great  ;D Just for the sake of argument.. You might want to bump the memory in the system to 256. Not that it will speed up your connection allot but it will help with startup time a little and programs.. It will probably reduce the page file use to.
Memory is real cheap right now  ;D Also ifyou double check around and lookup your system specs you might be able to upgrade to a P3 from the celeron cheap as well... Itll make it feel new  ;D
Be a Organ Donor. A chance at life.
This site never spams or sells its list to anyone. No pop up's or scams
An inconvenience, but if you want to make omelettes, you have to break some eggs.