Cablenut - Broadbandnuts - DSLnuts

General Information => General Tech Support => Topic started by: BigAmp on March 13, 2004, 12:52:21 am

Title: PC F@@@ed
Post by: BigAmp on March 13, 2004, 12:52:21 am
Hey

just went to turn my PC on and found it to be NFG. the power comes on, motherboard lights, fans and the power/HD lights on the front are on but nothing else is working it just sits there. I can not even open a CD-ROM.

I gots no clue here?????

so a little help would be great!
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: mccoffee on March 13, 2004, 01:23:29 am
Clear the cmos on the board  by using the jumper look in board manual and or webisite then reboot if it doesn't boot  start taking out the modem/network card  just have the vid card  in and that's it.  

If you have spare power supply  i would try that also  maybe replacing the cmos battery.  

Also are you getting any beep codes???      
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: dannjr on March 13, 2004, 01:48:25 am
Clear the cmos on the board  by using the jumper look in board manual and or webisite then reboot if it doesn't boot  start taking out the modem/network card  just have the vid card  in and that's it.  

If you have spare power supply  i would try that also  maybe replacing the cmos battery.  

Also are you getting any beep codes???      
Ditto

Plus if the above dosnt work go a step farther..
If you dont have a power supply to try at the moment disconnect the power to the HD and CDrom.. Some New boards require at least a flop to boot..  
If your HD is disconnected a possible virus wont be able to re-write itself on boot to memory.. That will allow you to get to the bios to enable the virus protection or possible write protect..

Power supplys are built like as toss aways now
Thats why every machine I get has the power supply pulled and replaced with a dual fan 500 plus watt supply
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: mccoffee on March 13, 2004, 03:11:29 am
Power supplys are built like as toss aways now
Thats why every machine I get has the power supply pulled and replaced with a dual fan 500 plus watt supply


Most psu or power supplys are made over seas  they are not regulated my an angetcy i can't spell it's late bare with me.   IF they were made here they would be regulated.  My point being is when you buy a dish warsher you have an ideal when it  would die b4 you buy it.  With computer  no such thing.


Dann I wouldn't mind your answer to this  I see alot of people spending upto 60-70 all the way to 100's for psw is the extra money worth the better brand for psus??    As i stated above they could go at any time so why waste the bucks imo.  Please share your views.
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: Micro on March 13, 2004, 09:19:32 am
Power supplys are built like as toss aways now
Thats why every machine I get has the power supply pulled and replaced with a dual fan 500 plus watt supply


Most psu or power supplys are made over seas  they are not regulated my an angetcy i can't spell it's late bare with me.   IF they were made here they would be regulated.  My point being is when you buy a dish warsher you have an ideal when it  would die b4 you buy it.  With computer  no such thing.


I would pretty much disagree with all of that.  ;D

Where it's made has little, if anything, to do with it, as they all must pass the same LOW specs to carry the FCC interference label, whether they are import or domestic, as well as the flammability ratings. Those are all that are required.

You get what you pay for, period.
Caveat Emptor

A $9.95 power supply (that comes with a $14.95 case) is worth exactly that and no more.
Anyone SHOULD know that it is of low quality and limited life without having to be told.   :slap:
The same size PS costing $49.95 will have heavier duty components and much longer life.

Advertised wattage size in a PS has about as much relevance as it does in an audio amp - virtually nil.    >:(
The specs are what you need to look at, period.
300 watts is more than adequate for almost any dual P3 syatem with 4 drives, IF it is in the right places across the correct rails.
You need to KNOW what your system needs, not guess.
All the info is available for the asking (or in most cases, looking, as specs for everything are posted on the net)

Bigger ain't always better.

BTW - Power supplies do not have more than very basic surge suppression at best.
Incoming AC power irregularities are what kills 95% of all PSs, not component failure on it's own.
The other 5% is from PS rails being overloaded becuase of the PS not being matched to the demand.
Power supplies (and their components) all die a slow death without some sort of line conditioning.
We have yet to have a PS failure here in over 19 years at this location, which we attribute to quality line conditioners and quality UPSs.
(And if you think that is not unusual, you've obiously never looked at your local power grid with a less than highly damped meter.
If you want nightmares, reduce the damping rate on your meter and monitor an AC wall oulet.
But don't say I didn't warn you.  :prayer:  )

Everything here is dual processor with multiple drives (up to 6 normally, but it varies as ALL drives are in swappable cases) and usually burners, and yes, the largest PS we use currently is a 375w unit.

(We do not have any P4 based units at this time though, and do expect to have to step up wattage to 425-450 to accomadate the dual Xeons and Sata Raid5 w/burners on the rigs due to be built next month)

As mccoffee would say -  Please share your views.
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: mccoffee on March 13, 2004, 10:42:54 am
I will say this  you want psu  that is certified with the make of cpu  like it's intel certified or amd certified if not it might throw off on cpu warranty issues.    

I forgot about fcc  i wish  i could call my old teacher who  was talking abou the regualtions grant maybe my memory got fed up  i forgot the whole story.   I'm going to take a crack at anyway   the oversea's governement  don't   have  as many  regulations on builiding the parts  where in the usa  we have more rules to follow  when manufacturing  those parts that fcc maybe that's all that matters.  Like i said i wish had that guy's email.  

As for the cheap power supplies i usually get the 20 buck ones grant i'm not running anything high  end at the house they last about 5-7years  that's my whole point, Micro if you have  a guide/article or any knowledge of  parts  life expectancy i would love to read it or hear it over.    
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: mccoffee on March 13, 2004, 11:09:49 am
Sorry to double but  micro thanks for the info  i'm still a newb  ;D
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: BigAmp on March 13, 2004, 11:41:10 am
going back a ways, I well give a little more info here.

when I start of the computer, the power and HD light both light up. but nothing at all is going on with the HD. I do not get any beep code... I don't have it. I have an LED hex code on my mother board. it would just say 00 and there was nothing in my manual about that. not that I have left it off over night, it started some of the booting. the HD light turned off and can open CD-ROMs but I still did not hear my HD work. the mother board now is staying at 52. manual says "Test all Memory (clear all extended Memory to 0)" the fans and lights have been working the whole time. and nothing comes across the screen, but there is some signal I don't get the check connection warning.

this first started when I came back to my PC yester day afternoon, it had crached I guess it was black screen and the lights / fans where all still running, the power and HD lights were on. but nothing would happen. I had to flip the power at the back the reset and holding power button for 7 sec. was not working. when I restarted it nothing, had the fans and lights running the power light/HD on both the case and my motherbaord came on but no HD sound, I could not even open the CD-ROMS. THen I messege this to you all.

sort of listing off listing off the parts of my computer I am just looking for some places to start and to find out what my manual was talking about.
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: dannjr on March 13, 2004, 11:56:35 am
OK view point kwel..
This isnt to say My view is perfect
BUT I can get PSs around $30 for a 520watt PS with dual fan..Pop that into a $14 case.

The components run hotter now, so having the secondary fan helps keep the case kwel

The recent New systems with PSs that Iv been seeing as of late, have been heating up even with a line conditioner and UPS on the line..
I had 300watt PS in the past year with a little over 30 machines running.. Iv had 4 smoke. Not just go out but smoke..

The fact that they smoked wasnt due to them nessassarly being bad.
For instance, AMDs spec per system is about 300 to 350watt supply.

Now you deliver that machine and over the next few months the user decides he/she wants a added HD next they want a added DVD CD burner along with the burner they have.
They bump the memory to a gig. They hang an external USB HD on. Then a card reader. Next thing you know with all the added stuff, oh and cameraīs and the added programs they eat up the voltage..
Then to add to all of that they run there systems 24/7..
So now you have the added human factor. AND now you walk in and you put your hand over the back of the system and all you feel is heat.. Heat factors in, with all of it.

So now we come full circle. I run out Grab one of them $29 PSs $50 Retail  pop it in and the PS runs cool and the system runs cooler
Im not gonna pop in a Added slot or case fan when that justs adds to eating up the PS. esp. if I can get the same job done from the dual fan supply..

Now we add the other human factor Comm Eddy(The Power company)..
In the past 7 years in chicago I could drop a line conditioner on everything with UPS and durring the summer have brown outs with a spike equil to lightening.. Everyone is using so much more power now in there homes and business its almost funny  ;D Cause its added to the home income ;D

But then I look at my usage.
I have a 54 inch Samsung DLP HDTV that runs almost 24-7 with surround sound. 10 computers running 24/7, a giant Laser4 two other printers and document scanner, airconditioning, 2 furnaces 7 other TVs
8 UPSs a panel spike protector from newtone and a line conditioner.
Not to mention some of my other electrical toys, or my wifes 10billion watt blow dryer.. Sauna/whirpool..
Like call the power police..
Anyone want to trade home power bills  ;D   AND I didnt even mention all the networking stuff or DSL connctions...

My wife actually asked me why I had to move my Athlon to the Dungeon She liked the suplimental heat..
As for older machines I have a couple of P2s with original PSs
Heck I got a 8086 with all original equiptment. More Gold than copper  ;)
I also have to be additional honest 70% of the equiptment running is Athlon even in the offices now..

Your turns  8) I want more......
Im adding windmills next
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: dannjr on March 13, 2004, 12:16:43 pm
Bigamp Unplug the HD if it fires up you have a HD problem.
No beep tone is usually memory. Or bios just messed.
The info you have is right..

This is not nessassarly a fix I suggest but have done it several times. AND not nessassarrlllly the first thing to do. This will be out of desperation..

Now this aint for the weak hearted.
If the bearings froze up in the Drive and you need the Data off that drive. Plug that drive into a system thats working. prefurably an older system.
As the system starts up hit the side of the drive with a small hammer.If the drive fires up you need to get into bios and set the drive static. That means you only have a few seconds..
Reboot and listen for the drive. If you need to pop it again and you might just do it.
That should give you 15 to 30 minutes to get the data off onto the other drive.
For them of you rolling on the floor
Look into the eyes of a customer with a Novell server running scud drives thats doing exactly what Bigamps is now
and become God in there eyes when they see you hit the drive with a stapler I think it was Arrow and the system fired up and ran for almost a month logger while everything was being transfered out. Dont even ask why a month.. Twas a money issue and OS issue... There was backups.. Besides the load on the novell wasnt that high.  
You could just add a drive to the broke system as well just make sure its formated
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: mccoffee on March 13, 2004, 12:41:57 pm
If you cleard the cmos   jumper  also what dann said  i would also unplug power to cdrom drives as well just to narrow it down, and still no dice it's probably ram  grant i haven't ran into what dann is talking about just yet with the hammer but i got to keep in that mind.


Another crazy ideal if all this doesn't work is unmount board  make sure there isn't any lose screws or anything like that in the case and mount it back it in i might be wrong it could also be  short.  
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: dannjr on March 13, 2004, 12:47:33 pm
If you cleard the cmos   jumper  also what dann said  i would also unplug power to cdrom drives as well just to narrow it down, and still no dice it's probably ram  grant i haven't ran into what dann is talking about just yet with the hammer but i got to keep in that mind.


Another crazy ideal if all this doesn't work is unmount board  make sure there isn't any lose screws or anything like that in the case and mount it back it in i might be wrong it could also be  short.  

Ya know This could be part of it at least its been in the past but a loose chip or capacitor on board.. If it was the old CPU like a old Athlon or P2 Ide say chk to make sure mounted ok..
Keep in mind a stapler works too when a hammer aint available ;D
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: Micro on March 13, 2004, 01:51:04 pm
BigAmp - You may want to reseat all the memory and/pull all but one known good stick.
Memory comes before Drives in most bios check routines.
(Memory bad = no attempt at HD detection or boot
Memory with errors = HD detection, but no boot)

And your MB codes seem to point that way also.


dannjr - except for you buy by price (??)and I buy by spec, I think you said we agree ??

Anywho - tell me more about the DLP set, I'm in the market .
How's the sharpness and viewing angle compared to plasma. lcd, or crt or lcd projection.
How's it's progressive display compared to it's interlaced display?
Would a wife notice the difference or is it not that bad?
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: mccoffee on March 13, 2004, 02:55:53 pm
i got  dual fan 400 forgot the brand i was told the amd's  like  a higher wattage psu's
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: dannjr on March 13, 2004, 03:41:29 pm
BigAmp where are you  :(

Micro  ;)
Yup I buy by price.. The trick is the people I buy from(krex) yup they have some inXpensive stuff thatís pre-built and I use as workstations. But they also "build" Raid servers that can be upgraded and they use well built spec items. I can also have them toss together a custom built. My cost vs. there cost is about right by the time its delivered Heck if I was in the market I could get a overclock but I think you and I settled that awhile back.. No real reason to over clock. You can with a Duron without the heat elevation but Im not really into that and see no real need..

The DLP has been great. Its a projection unit with one bulb. instead of the three. Its supposed to have a real long life period similar to the older Mitsubishi projection units that are still around and cant be serviced anymore (older was the key)
Before we went shopping for it. We had been at a Relatives house for Turkey day last year and they had the exact same unit.. Because the kids had been there Nemo was on DVD and we had seen it prior with kids on a 32inch TV when I saw Nemo on this DLP of theirs and could see the Scales on Nemo without any interference I thought it was extremely kwel.
So I asked them why and how much.. The answer I got was.
We bought it to fit the room and cabinets and it had a excellent reviews on it.
He also said look for yourself compare it to the Sony and the pioneer equivalent.

So we started reading.. Yes the wife got very involved in it.. We went to Circuit City took a look did the same at Best Buy and looked at ABT We wanted to see it under different light conditions and compare the other systems.
On the Sony it was good but I could see the pixels from 15 feet away
On the pioneer which we almost bought The picture was great but we also had to look at how the light would hit it in the room (more on that in a minute)
The pioneer can do everything the Samsung can do for about 25% less money but again I could see the pixels again not as bad as the Sony but to me it was noticeable my wife liked the pioneer because of the case with the speakers to the side. (She changed her own mind on it)

To me the three systems are all great buys when you take the money into account.

This is what I and the wife looked at money wise. Trust me we spent more on all of this than the average car buyer in 1966 for a Chev Malibu that was $2400.00 and we didnt blink an eye

Samsung Serviceability will be for the most part the spinning mirror and the lamp..
You can replace the lamp without a tech in 30 minutes as a NoOb and reading the book
The mirror would have to be serviced by a tech.
Heat isnt a real big factor. Around the bulb area thereís also a fan and it gets to about the temp of a 60watt bulb
Extended Warranty was half the price of a plasma set and can be extended at the end of the contract period.. Look into the warranty its Important that it says something in that line and that its all in house maintenance..

Plasma picture is about the same as the DLP but then again you might have the plasma for 6 to 8 years spend $7000.00 for it on the size. AND have the picture degregate after 3 to 4 years. At that point do you want to argue with a tech about replacing plasma over a picture that still works. AHH a thing I missed, most plasmas donít have the Tuner built in and even some of the projection and LCDs donít. The DLP has it all built in. But that might not be a issue. We have three tuners hooked up to ours.  

LCD Iím sorry I looked and yeah for a room thatís limited I would do it. We didnít spend allot of time looking at them. They did compare out in price range with the DLP. In fact we originally wanted to hang the picture on the wall. We may still get one for the B room that we can hang from the ceiling on a angle but havenít looked into whether or not thatís a stable thing for us or the techno yet. It probably is ok.

Light or Room light. Samsung seemed to have a very good ďblackĒ to it. But theyíre all getting about the same.
The room we have the DLP in is very well lit up in the morning and afternoon.
it sits about 4 feet from a sliding door with a southern exposure. Thereís also two windows with eastern exposure we had to consider.. Thatís why we looked at them all in different light as well. When the Sun comes up in the morning on our old 32 you could barley make out the picture Wellllll not that bad but I think you get the idea.
Since I setup the custom settings on the DLP for in the morning I see it like the room wasnít back lit. Picture purfect.

Setup
What a pain at first Then I read the manual  ;D . "Girls itís a Guy thing".

There are two Ant in and one out
There are more than enough AV and Component jacks on the back
Thereís also a spot to hook up a Video Card direct to the back from a PC and split screen during a movie (havent got to that yet)
The screen is 1280 by 720p more than good enough for gaming and surfing.
It has screen/frame capure I really havent had time for yet. Still working on getting a PC on it
I mentioned the inputs
Hereís how it breaks down all on screen.

Antenna/cable two in one out
Video 1
Video 2
Video 3
S-video 1      
S-video 2
S-video 3
Component 1
Component 2
Component 3
DVI
PC

Thereís also availability for firmware upgrades.
Switching between components above is generally a single click

Video display changes is added clicks and should be upgraded in my opinion.
To change from wide screen to panorama to zoom 1 or zoom 2 you have to go into setup
However it will save your settings between the different components.
So if you pop in a DVD and have input video 1 running and need to have Zoom on it just switch video 2 or S-video Im using the S-vid for DVDs I think it has a better picture
But the Wife could pop in a DVD and leave the settings right where there at and still have a great picture. So yes YOU can make it user friendly  ;)

I currently have the whole thing hooked up to a Sony 64 bit theater surround sound system. With the Sony DVD/VCR player. AND for the most part, Im running the Cable in through AV 1, from the DVD player for making it easy to use for the wife.
That makes it so she only need to know how to change it from AV to Cable. She didnít want to play with the added stuff BUT she knows how to get the Remote away from me  :'(

I strongly suggest if you go with the surround sound and DVD look at the matching Samsung The Sony is great but the Samsung matchís. It took a little finesse getting the two to play nice BUT then again Comcast was upgrading our neighborhood at the time and drove me nuts with the picture..

Cables
Chezzzy cables come with both systems. ďLike that wasnít expectedĒ.
I have thousands of feet of cable here still in boxís only 2 years out of production and because of the lines here. I went out and bought Monster cables. It made a difference.
I also added a 10db line conditioner to the cable line because of all the cable in the house (line loss) and with the added UPS with noise filter to a spike strip..

Cable to DVD quality is about the same. Your in graphics so youíd probably see even more..

Next I do a Review on a workstation from Krex Iím already working on reviewing a router from them..
Any questions on the DLP Ill try to answer as well as possible.. Man I think I hit the edge of post length

BigAmp you fixed yet  I hope some of what we gave you is helpin..
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: Micro on March 13, 2004, 10:39:26 pm
dannjr - Sounds good.
That just gives me more stuff to look at now  ::)

I'd probably stay with my existing Sansui Surround Sound receiver.
(yea, it's old enough that it doesn't carry a "home theater" designation, but it does do s-video, composite, optical and coax audio switching.
Too bad it was never imported into the US, only Canada.)
She does do 100w RMS into the 3 front channels and 75w RMS into the 2 separate rears. Has a subwoofer output, but since the the 5 channels all have the same speaker setup (15" woofer, 6" midrange, and 2" tweeter and all at spl eff. of 92%+) the windows shake enough now, thank you.
(love the way you can feel the "ping" in Hunt for Red October pass through you, just like being there as I remember it)

Best of all, the wife's only comment so far was "Boy, that looks a lot better than our TV, do you think we need one?"   ;)
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: chpalmer on March 13, 2004, 11:42:37 pm
You guys need this     http://www.windenergy.com/  ;D

BigAmp-  sounds like a p.s. to me also. One leg could be gone and the other working.   A quick check with an volt meter would verify this.  :ccs:

I upgraded mine to somthing healthier also but its been a couple of years.

 :)
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: dannjr on March 14, 2004, 12:20:48 am
dannjr - Sounds good.
That just gives me more stuff to look at now  ::)

I'd probably stay with my existing Sansui Surround Sound receiver.
(yea, it's old enough that it doesn't carry a "home theater" designation, but it does do s-video, composite, optical and coax audio switching.
Too bad it was never imported into the US, only Canada.)
She does do 100w RMS into the 3 front channels and 75w RMS into the 2 separate rears. Has a subwoofer output, but since the the 5 channels all have the same speaker setup (15" woofer, 6" midrange, and 2" tweeter and all at spl eff. of 92%+) the windows shake enough now, thank you.
(love the way you can feel the "ping" in Hunt for Red October pass through you, just like being there as I remember it)

Best of all, the wife's only comment so far was "Boy, that looks a lot better than our TV, do you think we need one?"   ;)


Sumptin I should stressss
Im not subscribed to Didgital Cable yet so the feed direct off the cable is a touch grainy. As long as I feed the picture through the AV cables or S-vid its perfect..
DLP has one thing that a very few people see and its a small rainbow effect when you squint your eyes and go left to right. But its very few that get that problem. They say if you see it you may not want it...  ;)
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: dannjr on March 14, 2004, 12:27:44 am
You guys need this     http://www.windenergy.com/  ;D


I need that and this http://www.spiresolarchicago.com/solar/services.html (http://www.spiresolarchicago.com/solar/services.html)

And because of Chicago and Com ED Ide have to find a way to sneek in a added 80 KW to make back all the investment
Plus with wind power according to windenergy Ide have to live in a area that averages 9 mile per hour. Acording to there maps IL only avergaes 2mph unless I missed sumptin
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: chpalmer on March 14, 2004, 12:51:02 am
http://www.oksolar.com/roof/

These are always cool! ;)

Always get the impression from the media that Illinois is always windy ;D
but you know how they like to sensationalize...

Some kind of buffer system between the power supply and the computer would be a nice invention, say- running the computer off of a couple of battery banks, one for each voltage level. It would have to be switched to kill all power when needed.
But it would up the maintenance requirement for the system.
Nice clean d.c. power though. :)

Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: dannjr on March 14, 2004, 12:55:16 am
Yup its the Windy City but thats based on the politics...
Even solar and wind is controlled by politics  ;D
Title: PC F@@@ed
Post by: dannjr on March 14, 2004, 02:33:08 am
Want to help protect your equiptment... WHole house or whole office spike protection
http://www.aplussupply.com/intermatic/surge-protectors/surge-protectors.htm (http://www.aplussupply.com/intermatic/surge-protectors/surge-protectors.htm)
It works... We install it for $400 in offices
I ment this earlier in this topic..

BigAmp you alive.... Your email gots to be getting this stuff..
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: BigAmp on March 14, 2004, 04:27:47 pm
OK my internet has been down in rez for the last two days so I need to read over all of this.

it has been a slow last few days both phone and internet have been out here.
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: mccoffee on March 14, 2004, 06:15:28 pm
If you are the cleveland area i'll buy you a cold one sounds like a tough week.
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: BigAmp on March 15, 2004, 12:58:00 pm
well I just finaly ogt to read all of this, it just made one of my classes fly by!!!!!

from the reading it sounds like it could be PS or RAM I would say it should not be a virus because I have been using my laptop soooo much, the PC has just because a home theater. plus any files that I have download to it have gone in via my laptop that has virus scan and has had no problums, knock knock.

I think I am look more to the PS, I just have what came with the case (case cost $50 Can.). I've got P4, 2 HD, 2 ROMs, Floopy, 2 RAM Sticks, 3 fans. thats a lot of power needed there.  then there is the sound, video, USB 2.0, Network cards..........

time for a math test... I will have to give a try at finding the bug tonight.
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: dannjr on March 15, 2004, 01:25:01 pm
I hope my long winded thing on the HDTV/DLP didn't keep you from class  ;D

Ide pull mem sticks first before just replacing the PS. But if you open that case and find a 300W PS in there with everything you mentioned Ide go bigger at least 400W from a reliable source.
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: BigAmp on March 15, 2004, 01:43:27 pm
I would guess its a 300W in there.

and no it did not keep me from class, just gave me something to do!! ;)
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: BigAmp on March 16, 2004, 03:38:41 pm
It's be the Power Supply, the irony is that that day I had fix my friends computer that his power supply had died on. so it had died while I was replacing his.
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: dannjr on March 17, 2004, 01:35:23 am
It's be the Power Supply, the irony is that that day I had fix my friends computer that his power supply had died on. so it had died while I was replacing his.

Thats always how it goes  ;D
Look at what you got hangin on it.
Reason I use biggin PS's
heres my poor P4 2.4 - 800 and whats hangin on it  ;D

Sieko systems Label printer via COM2
USB 2 external 120Gig Haard drive
USB 1.1 hub
USB Card reader
USB Scanner
Zoom fax modem
Sound card
NIC
USB 2 pci card
two internal 80 gig HD
2 CD/RW / DVD
1 gig memory
ATI 9000 video w/TV
Palm via USB
USB 8 in one Card reader

I know Im fogetin sumtin
The printers are all via print servers from the 16 port switch with the exception or the label printer.. Give me time Ill get that on a print server too..

Gald you got it goin it Su@#$@#$ to be down
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: BigAmp on March 26, 2004, 01:04:10 pm
Well I finaly had time to fix my PC.

Got myslef a new Enermax 450W EG465P-VE Dual Fan, poped it in fireder up and she runs fine now!

Thanks for all the help.
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: dannjr on March 26, 2004, 02:38:01 pm
Well I finaly had time to fix my PC.

Got myslef a new Enermax 450W EG465P-VE Dual Fan, poped it in fireder up and she runs fine now!

Thanks for all the help.

Kwel
Title: Re:PC F@@@ed
Post by: BigAmp on April 10, 2004, 08:48:53 pm
Well its down again!

I think it is the HD so I will try the hammer thing to get it started ans copy the info I need off the HD.

hope you have your fingers crossed too!