Cablenut - Broadbandnuts - DSLnuts

Cablenut Support => Cablenut Program Support => Topic started by: Bogart on February 09, 2003, 03:18:41 am

Title: DSL tweaking
Post by: Bogart on February 09, 2003, 03:18:41 am
I've been through the forums and links on tweaking my dsl to get the most out of it with not a lot of luck.  I've got cablenut program dl and have tried to input some figures with no success.  I've ran speakeasy and avg around 1135 kbps dl and 140 kbps ul.  Here's my analyzer info:

OS: XP

TCP options string = 020405a001010402
 
MTU = 1480
MTU is optimized for Windows XP PPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.
 
MSS = 1440
Maximum useful data in each packet = 1440, which equals MSS.
MSS is optimized for Windows XP PPPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for maximum throughput.
 
Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 63888
RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
Unscaled Receive Window = 63888
For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
506880 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
253440 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
126720 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
 63360 (MSS x 44)
 
bandwidth * delay product:
Your RcvWindow limits you to: 2555.52 kbps (319.44 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
Your RcvWindow limits you to: 1022.208 kbps (127.776 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
 
MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
 
Time to live left = 41 hops
TTL value is ok.
 
Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
 
Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
 
IP type of service field (RFC1349)= 00000000
 
Not quite sure what my advertised speed is supposed to be.  I use SBC Yahoo DSL if that is any help.  
I also noticed in another forum you had some information with a link but I was a bit hesitant to just run the registry without consent.  Here's the info in the forum:

OK then your MTU should be 1480, use the following fix from Bob Carrick to set it:

1) Download this file http://www.carricksolutions.com/XP_MTU.reg
2) Right click the file and choose "Merge"
3) Click "Yes"
4) Go to "Start" -> Click on "Run" -> Type in "Regedt32.exe" -> Click "OK"
5) Go to this Reg Key "[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\ SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\ Services\NdisWan\ Parameters\Protocols\0]"
6) Double click on "Protocol MTU"
7) Click on "Decimal" -> Enter your desired value (I.E.: Anything less then 1480.)  Use 1480
8) Click "OK"
9) Done!

If you have any help you can throw my way to input in the cablenut program to get my dsl smoking I would truely appreciate it.  I hope I've given you all the information needed.  Thanks!
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: dannjr on February 09, 2003, 03:44:55 am
Welcome to the board
We decided to put out our own MTU fix since the one from carrick solutions left it a touch lower
heres that download
http://broadbandnuts.com/files/pppoefix2kxp.zip
It includes a return to default

As for the entries into the program download the
Cablenut Addon Update at the top of this page in the links. It has the settings your looking for.
Your Caps are 1500 down and 256 upload
OR 1.5Mb which = 187.5KB/sec download
256kbps = 32KB/sec upload
On SBC you should be able to get to 85 to 92% of your download speed depending on how far you are from the CO (connection office) you might get more.

Also at the bottem of this page download the program "spybot search and destroy and Lavasoft Ad-aware. the two programs together will find and destroy expliotes on your machine that are using bandwidth.
Thats to include advertisers that track you and certain programs that collect all your info and send it to the web. If you have in exsess of 50 or more that can slow you up as much as 150kbps and make opening pages real slow.
Some of the worst are
Gain
Gator corporation (includes gain)
LOP
Cydor
Comet cursor
the ones just listed should and are starting to be listed more as a trogen in some places

So far you dont look to bad but I think it can be better.
I have SBC I get 92% of my advertised speed at 6000 feet from the CO
I also have Cyberonic and I get 98% but the two connections are totally different

Lastley which software are you using to connect
SBC Enternet or the built in drivers from Microsoft
Also have you thought about a router they can have a great effect. Less resourses used on your machine and more reliable.

Again welcome to the forum  8)
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: Bogart on February 09, 2003, 04:56:26 am
Man I didn't expect anyone to be up at this time except me, hehe.  Thanks for the quick response.  I went ahead and dl the update and ran a speed test and it actually went down from the one I sent earlier.  Do I need to do anything to the cablenut adjuster program or is just saving the info in the registry all that's needed?  I know it's hard to help when you're not actually able to see what's going on with the person you're helping.  I'm trying to learn all I can and I hope this isn't too frustrating.  I really appreciate your help!

Oh yeah and the spybot program had installed way back when I got the first taste Gator.  That Gator crap was a nightmare.  That spybot program is awesome!
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: dannjr on February 09, 2003, 05:12:33 am
In the update you want to pick the .CCS file that matchs closests to your connection.
What you want to try is the folder marked "WinXP_2KDSL" use the file "DSL PPPoE 1500 256" OR you can try my universal file called "DANNJR_DSL_1500" The only difference you want to make to DANNJR_DSL is to add the "TcpWindowSize" to the "GlobalMaxTcpWindowSize"

Not all connections are created equil  ;D So we might have to make some minor adjustment.

Also in WinXP/2K  or any other OS by Microsoft you should assign a fake IP address as outlines here http://dslnuts.com/pppoe/Stalls.htm One thing it dosent mention is setting the Gateway in the advanced setion to Metric 1 that can have a big effect in XP and could get you to 99% I know it will with a router.

As for being up.. Im monitoring the site at the moment after yesterdays attack plus I had a ton of weird to catch up on  ;D

I know allot to take in take it slow Esp at this weird hour ;D
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: Bogart on February 09, 2003, 05:47:29 am
Yeah I read the post about the attack, sorry it had to happen to such a great site.  Man some people I just don't understand.  

I'm probably being stupid and I hope you have patience, you spoke of a file "DSL PPPoE 1500 256" or "DANNJR_DSL_1500" now are those files in the folder marked "WinXP_2KDSL"?  If so I don't have those in there.  Is there an update I missed out on or am I just not quite doing it right?  I'm sorry for my lack of understanding.
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: dannjr on February 09, 2003, 05:59:01 am
No problem
Here's the link its kinda hidden @ 5:30am  ;D
http://dslnuts.com/files/CABLENUT_UPDATE.exe (http://dslnuts.com/files/CABLENUT_UPDATE.exe)

Download it and save to someplace in your programs or download folders. There not going to install to the default program but gives you added settings in a few extra folders with a Few extra settings for you to mess with  ;D
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: Bogart on February 09, 2003, 06:14:36 am
I guess I should of searched a little farther to find the update, thanks for given it to me.  

I used a couple of the ones in the update and it bumped it to 1155 kbps.  A little better I think there's something else I'm not doing right.  Oh I ran another analyzer and it still shows my MTU at 1480.  I thought it should of been at 1492 or 1500 depending on which one I saved to registry.  Once again did I have a brain fart and screwed up?  
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: dannjr on February 09, 2003, 06:26:07 am
I guess I should of searched a little farther to find the update, thanks for given it to me.  

I used a couple of the ones in the update and it bumped it to 1155 kbps.  A little better I think there's something else I'm not doing right.  Oh I ran another analyzer and it still shows my MTU at 1480.  I thought it should of been at 1492 or 1500 depending on which one I saved to registry.  Once again did I have a brain fart and screwed up?  
At this time of the morning anything is possible.

Did you get a chance to read through this thread yet.
Theirs some added info that might be missing from the senerio
http://www.dslnuts.com/yabbse/index.php?board=11;action=display;threadid=350 (http://www.dslnuts.com/yabbse/index.php?board=11;action=display;threadid=350)

Since your on PPPoE the highest amount in the MTU you'll ever see is 1492.
The first file you had installed for the MTU only brought the NDIS up to 1400 even though it showed 1480.

The other fact is and I forgot about is that SBC does have areas that the upload is only 128 in that case we might be hitting the settings wrong. You might want to try the 1500x128 just to see..
AND as just a reminder in case you havent done so
With each new setting no matter what it is you need to do a full reboot for the settings to take.

Just call me Mush as in Mush head  ;D
As far as finding that link happens all the time.. It will be on the main pages soon  ;)

Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: dannjr on February 09, 2003, 07:34:31 am
Something I forgot to mention is the DSL wiring guide you might want to look at that.
the primary reason for the guide is to kill Radio RF type noise BUT you might want to look at the connections for corossion as well.. Added resistance = slower speed
Having your modem under your monitor or near a 900mhz or 2.4Ghz phone base will slow you down too
Some halogen lamps have been known to interfere.

If you have a phone like I mentioned simply move th base to a different room the phone can still be used. Its the station that makes for the problem  
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: Bogart on February 09, 2003, 07:53:46 am
I was looking at some of the wiring info on one of the threads and wanted to run some cat-5 cables but since I live in an apartment I might get myself kicked out for drilling holes or doing any other mods without consent, hehe ;D.  I've been thru that thread a couple of times and did just about everything.  I did the fake IP tweak which made a huge diffrence at start up.  No waiting on PPPoE crap.  Also did the NIC duplex tweak and that helped too.   The only thing I couldn't find was the MTU Ethernet fix.  DSL Enternet MTU Fix:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/System/CurrentControlSet/Services/Class/Net/000n/Ndi/params/MaxFrameSize/"max" ....
Where it says /Class/ I had nothing in my registry following in the order shown.  

I used the "DSL PPPoE 1500 256", the 128 and your personal settings and still only got about 1135-1155.  
I'm trying to calculate some on my own since I've finally got a better understanding of some of this stuff by chatting with you. I'll probably try to use some of the other ones listed in the update too.

If you have any other suggestions throw them my way.  
I'm sorry I'm not having much luck, but I am learning.
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: dannjr on February 09, 2003, 08:08:16 am
Im gonna double chk that registry thing. I dont have that either and I think its only for Winpoet. Be glad you dont have that..

BUT since you live in an apartment and Im sure you dont want to get kicked.
Two ways of going about it if your good with wiring offer to add Cat5 into the building if its not a big job. We did that with one place.. The idea behind it was that now the owner could offer additional lines as well as cleaner connection.
The other way is make real sure that all your connection are real clean and that none of them including the phones are wired backward.
The Backward thing can mess you up too..

Also I wont get to involved with this part "Ahem" But if you have others interested "ahem" a router can make allot of sence  ;D SBC says its your network  ;D
more on that youll have to PM me
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: Bogart on February 09, 2003, 09:01:58 am
I heard that Winpoet was a mess.  The wiring the building might not be a bad idea.  I've done alot of electrical wiring so I would have no problem there.

I went out to the box when I first got here and everything looked really new, mainly because the apartments are only a couple of years old.  

I've thought about trying out the router again but I just don't know.  It would be nice to be able to hook up all my online consoles plus my puter and not have to unhook and rehook all my cat-5 cables.

I sent you a PM too.
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: Bogart on February 10, 2003, 11:24:22 pm
Hey Dan how goes it?  Hopefully no more attackers!

Anyway, I was looking at the ethernet hack that you talked to about and if I was looking at the correct one I don't believe it will work for me cause I have Win XP.  Maybe I was looking at the wrong one!  
I did try to install the RASPPPoE program but ran into problems and aborted that mission.

I thought I'd ask if there was anything else you could possible think of to get a consistent dl speed.  I've dl some things off some websites to see what I dl at and it starts out really good.  Most of the time it starts out at around 400-500 kbps and then jumps up to around 800-900 kbs instantly and then after about 5-10 seconds of dl at 900 kbps it drops quickly to a stable 150 kbps.  What's the deal!  It would be great if it would stay up around 700 kbps consistently.  Is there anything you can think of that I could do to keep it stable before I go tweaking again?
Here's an example:
I dl a 47 mb file in about 5 minutes
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: dannjr on February 11, 2003, 12:30:49 am
^^Chk your PM^^ maybe that will fix it  ;D
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: Bogart on February 11, 2003, 12:45:32 am
Did you send a new PM, if so I never got one or are you referring to one of my old PM's?
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: dannjr on February 11, 2003, 01:04:41 am

Did you send a new PM, if so I never got one or are you referring to one of my old PM's?

I gotta clean my outbox see if that last one went out to you the one that didnt make it had a real long explanation  too  :-\
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: dannjr on February 11, 2003, 01:17:51 am
you get any of them  :'(   8)
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: Bogart on February 11, 2003, 01:42:34 am
yeah I I got all of them that time,  ;D
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: dannjr on February 11, 2003, 01:50:15 am
XP Win2k specific

Open cmd line

Start>Run>cmd> click ok
@ the command prompt type
ipconfig /all       that will give you all the IP info on Enternet and the NIC (network interface card
in the NIC properties for TCP/IP enter the IP address that you had been assigned by Enternet to the network card
Enter the DNS IP address’s as well
Now you have the Fake IP setin
You can even enter the Gateway that Enternet assigned.
Set the Gateway in the advanced section to metric 1

Just a sample

Microsoft Windows 2000 [Version 5.00.2195]
(C) Copyright 1985-2000 Microsoft Corp.

C:\>ipconfig /all

Windows 2000 IP Configuration

       Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : neverumind = name of the machine
       Primary DNS Suffix  . . . . . . . : micro      = private network
       Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid     = my stuff
       IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No         = not needed for this network
       WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No         = stuff I dont use
       DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : memyselfi  = private network

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 3-com whatever  = brand of nic
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : XX-XX-XX-XX-XX  = MAC
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No              = not no moe
       IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.103   = in your case fake IP
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0   = in your case set it to this
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1     = put in what Enternet gives you
       DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : xxx.x.x.x       = put in what what enternet gives
                                           xxx.x.x.x
                                           xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx = added DNS
                                           xx.xx.xx.xx     = added DNS

C:\>

Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: dannjr on February 11, 2003, 01:51:35 am

yeah I I got all of them that time,  ;D



Had to make sure At least now I know I shouldnt go over 150 PMs
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: Bogart on February 11, 2003, 02:08:20 am
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA ;D
Put all that information in and also changed the duplex to half duplex 10 mbps. Noticed it speeds up my connection time when I start up my puter.
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: dannjr on February 11, 2003, 02:13:39 am

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA ;D
Put all that information in and also changed the duplex to half duplex 10 mbps. Noticed it speeds up my connection time when I start up my puter.



HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA ;D
Put all that information in and also changed the duplex to half duplex 10 mbps. Noticed it speeds up my connection time when I start up my puter.


There can be other effects that coffee and caffine can effect like memory
I think mine dropped the multitasking
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: Bogart on February 11, 2003, 02:27:59 am
 ;D  ROTFL!  ;D ;D ;D  lol
I may have to START drinking coffee with the time I spend on my puter.  I'm up way to late and only sleep about 4 hours a day and that's anywhere between 9am to about 12pm, and then back working on my puter and trying to tweak every little piece I can.  You can do that for awhile when you get laid off.  SOB's! :'(

Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: dannjr on February 11, 2003, 02:52:25 am
Theirs to much of that Laid off junk going on.  :'(
But I aint starting a anti political campaign thing one thing will lead to another.
We'll start talkin about Exonn and lead to kEn sTaR which will lead to BuSh and I think it will Just ballon into a Thing about some politicians that Ran the country into Bank-Rup-sure-c..
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: Bogart on February 11, 2003, 03:02:33 am
Yeah I hear you on that one, we'll stay off that subject.

Anyway about the tracert, with mine being between 15 and 35ms is that good or bad.  Is the lower number better or worse?  
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: dannjr on February 11, 2003, 03:23:25 am
lower the better ms = milliseconds

If it takes you 10000ms to get to the fridge and it takes me 300000000ms who needs fixing  ;D
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: Bogart on February 11, 2003, 03:32:54 am
True, True!  You better get that fixed then!  ;D

Well I assume you're probably pretty busy so I'll let you get back to doing what you do best.  I think I'll do some trial and error figuring to see if I can get some stability since I've learned some more about tweaking(I just noticed I'm a FULL NUT, wahoo).  It's too bad there's a waiting list for your knowledge I sure could use it.  It's like at the end of the month when everyone decides to go to the tag office to pay there taxes. :-[  I learned to send them in the mail after going thru that mess to many times.  ;D
Well talk to you later!  If I come across anything spectacular I'll let you know!  I'll probably be back in the forums tomorrow.
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: dannjr on February 11, 2003, 03:54:23 am

lower the better ms = milliseconds

If it takes you 10000ms to get to the fridge and it takes me 300000000ms who needs fixing  ;D


The teen ager I sent  ;D
Title: Re:DSL tweaking
Post by: Bogart on February 13, 2003, 05:16:51 am
Ok, here I go again!  I'm trying to install the Ethernet 300 so I can see if it works better than my SBC Yahoo crap.  I was having trouble keeping my dl speed up so I thought maybe I'd try the Ethernet 300.  As far as uninstalling the SBC stuff what needs to go or do I need to get rid of it?  I wish I could just send a pic of what I have but I'll try to explain as best I can.

My connection icons in my Network connections window:
 
Broadband connection WAN
Miniport (PPPoE)
its checked as default connection

Lan or High Speed Internet:
Local Area Connection 4
Network Cable unplugged
Efficient Networks Enternet P.P.P.o.E. Adapter

Local Area Connection
Enabled
Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection

1394 Connection
Enabled
1394 Adapter

What do I need to do?  The local area connection for the efficient won't allow me to enable it and I always have to right click on the DSL connection icon and connect to get on.  

Also it's been awhile since my first post so incase you need my OS info I'm using XP.  ;D