Cablenut - Broadbandnuts - DSLnuts

General Information => General Tech Support => Topic started by: Robertkk on February 22, 2003, 01:08:20 pm

Title: Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Robertkk on February 22, 2003, 01:08:20 pm
  Hey guys, I was told by a friend of mine that you all might be able to help me out on my quite bizarre computer problem.  

The thing is, whenever I play a game that takes up full-screen (tested with Dark Age of Camelot online, Warcraft 3-single player and online, and Age of Empires-single player), the game runs completely smoothly without any lag whatsoever, then after several minutes it freezes up for about 10 seconds, during which I can't do anything.

 This just started happening around christmas time, and before I have never ever experienced anything of the like (had comp for 1 year before that)
I am running a Compaq Presario5000
 512 megs of RAM
 40 gig harddrive

I freed up 20 gigs of space when I tried to fix the problem, because I was at <1gig space and nothing happened.

 If any of you guys can suggest what to do or anything I would greatly appreciate it.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Buggyman on February 22, 2003, 01:41:49 pm
Hi Robertkk... Welcom to the DslNuts Forum!  ;D
Have you checked for spywares? Because they can hog up quite a bit of your memory.
Also are you sure you haven't got a worm virus? because they work in the background without your knowlege and can use alot of memory sending out self made e-mails.
Maybe the other guys may have some other suggestions.. But that's my thinking.
PS.. Do you have Cablenut on your pc?

Thanks
Buggy  ;D
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Robertkk on February 22, 2003, 01:54:14 pm
 hi,

    Yes I have checked for spywares and the free virus scanner I downloaded said no viruses showed up.  I installed cablenut but the problem happens even when Im not doing anything internet related like playing single player games.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Buggyman on February 22, 2003, 02:00:55 pm
Well you may have a bug in your system like My Wife Puter has. And to date I haven't found the cause of it.
Something else to think about is to check your cpu fan and see if its losing out and causing the Processor to over heat.
I'm limited as to what to advise myself. But mnosteele and Dannjr can problally offer some better suggestions.
Dannjr usally posts after midnight when he gets a chance. mnosteele is in and out during the day.So keep checking back and see if the other guys offer some Ideals.
Thanks
Buggy ;D
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: mccoffee on February 22, 2003, 02:13:21 pm
http://www.pcpitstop.com/internet/tracert.asp take this test u should only see green maybe a yellow or two if any other color shows up or alot of yellow   let me know also http://www.dslnuts.com/yabbse/index.php?board=12;action=display;threadid=744  read this  thank u
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Robertkk on February 22, 2003, 02:40:03 pm
 I got all green.

k I have roadrunner, dont know advertised speeds
I get 190k max download
run win2k
     
       This is more of a computer-type question than a connection question.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: chpalmer on February 22, 2003, 02:53:34 pm
Sounds familiar except mine wont start moving again.
Does your screen seem to be caught mid refresh?
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Robertkk on February 22, 2003, 03:04:32 pm
  yes
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: mccoffee on February 22, 2003, 04:13:08 pm
try this goto ineternet exploer  tools,internet options,connections, lan settings if there is a check in automaticlly detect settings  uncheck   exit internet eploer then see if that helps
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Robertkk on February 22, 2003, 04:48:21 pm
no checks anywhere in there.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: mccoffee on February 22, 2003, 04:50:31 pm
ok since u are win2k download and install the cablenut update   ur advertised speed for road runner is 2000/384  on the update look for the folder it created ond desktop called cablenut_update   ok select the folder winxp_2k_cable  look for the file called 2000/384 apply changes an reboot  this should help u with the speeds
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: chpalmer on February 22, 2003, 04:54:47 pm
Ive been trying to diagnose mine for about 4 months now. I am beginning to believe my video card may have some bad ram on it.  I can duplicate my problem in other programs such as Adobe looking at local documents. You might try to see if this is the case with you. Scroll up and down a .pdf doc or somthing simular fast, a few times a day to see if you can catch it.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Robertkk on February 22, 2003, 08:32:34 pm
Mcoffee, I already did that.  This is a computer-related problem really, not much internet-related.


     However, the possibility that my video card has some bad RAM on it is VERY possible...do you think getting a new video card and replacing it will fix the problem? I can try and report back here since I'm already planning on buying a new card.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Buggyman on February 22, 2003, 09:19:28 pm
I agree.. I've done evey test on the wifeys PC for a long time. We've done all drivers updates and you name it.. it's been tested. We even have a differance Video card in it and no differance. We've even formated her harddrive and reinstlled windows.
One thing that did help was more rams. We inadvertaly put in the wrong ram cards and change that out to the correct ram cards. It did better.. But it still freezes.
One thing I am thinking is that we have an older scanner on it and the start up program called "FlatBed" may have something to do with it. If I turn the Flatbed off by doing a control/alt/delete and shut the program down.. her freezes seems to go away.
But It's obviously a memory problem and lack of memory causes the freeze.
So one suggestion is to do a control alt delete after boot up and shutdown any program you are not using and see if that helps.
I really am interested in this. The wifeys PC has a 750 CPU processor with 256 megs ove rams.
My PC is just a 400 cpu processor with 129 megs of rams.. I've had it for 6 years and no problems.
We're both running win/98se
The only differance is that she has the printer and scanner hooked up to hers.
So if anybody comes up with a solution.. I'd be real interested.
PS... I did the PITstop route also and came up in excellent shape according to them.

Buggy ;D
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: chpalmer on February 22, 2003, 10:03:49 pm
Id love to hear the results of your new video card. I wouldnt suggest changing it only if you or I just thought it would fix it, but if you were going to anyway. :)
I may borrow one and try it myself here shortly. I have lots of isa cards but no pci or agp laying around.

just for info or comparison, Im running an ASUS A7V-E
AMD  with 256 and a NVIDIA B-16 AGP card. When mine crashes, the mouse does not move and CTRL ALT DELETE will not work.  Ive tried the fresh install also and upgraded all the drivers. Case is clean and breaths well!
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: mccoffee on February 22, 2003, 10:22:13 pm
Did you try updated vid card drivers      also it could be just some bios error but hey I could be wrong too it sounds like you were having troublen with the card  so u are on the right track www.pricewatch.com if you live in the usa  it's a chep place to get parts  8)
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Robertkk on February 23, 2003, 06:26:45 am
  Im running a 1.5 gigahertz p4 with an nvidia (coincidence?) vanta-16 mbs.
   When mine freezes up, I can still move the mouse, only the entire program is frozen.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: mnosteele on February 23, 2003, 12:43:34 pm
Robertkk do you have all the latest Windows updates? What version of NVidia drivers are you using? Have you overclocked your card or your pc? What apps are running in the background when the lockups happen, please list all the apps i.e. brand of firewall, AV app etc. Did you install 2K or did the pc come with it? Is all the propietary crap from Compaq on your pc? Let's start with those questions and go from there.

:) ;) ;D
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Robertkk on February 23, 2003, 12:52:40 pm

Robertkk do you have all the latest Windows updates?

Yes.
Quote
What version of NVidia drivers are you using?

I Don't know heh, what's the NVidia page to go to so I can update all my drivers?
Quote
Have you overclocked your card or your pc?

I dont beleive so, but how can I be sure?
Quote
What apps are running in the background when the lockups happen, please list all the apps i.e. brand of firewall, AV app etc.

I often run AIM in the background, but it always happens to me, no matter what I do.  I even alt-ctrl-deleted all of the progs that start up when my comp does and to no avail.
Quote
Did you install 2K or did the pc come with it?

 It came with it
Quote
Is all the propietary crap from Compaq on your pc?

 Yep.  I still have 10+ gigs of free HD space so I dont delete it.


 thanks for trying to help me everyone =)
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: mnosteele on February 23, 2003, 12:59:39 pm
OK for starters let's update your drivers, i would suggest using the 42.68 version (http://www.windows-news.net/downloads/detonator/win2kxp_4268.zip). Once you install those try the games, there are also some very good tweaking apps for your card. Are you not running a firewall or AV app?

:) ;D
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: chpalmer on February 23, 2003, 01:04:01 pm
Thats the one Im running  NVIDIA vanta 3d force B-16...
Wonder if theres an issue there??  I am running the latest drivers nvidia.com (http://www.nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp) Mines a Jaton card if that helps.
I wonder if yours is also?
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: chpalmer on February 23, 2003, 01:40:56 pm
Robertkk-
Ive just e-mailed Jaton tech support to ask if theres any known issues regarding this card or chip, and will post back here if and when I get a response.

Try this though, change your colors from one setting to another and see if things change.  I went from 16 mil to 32 mil and it happened a lot more often. I think Im on the right track for my problem. Hopefully this will help solve your issues also.


If its ok with everyone Id like to (or someone else can)start a thread about it on the general board with nVidia strange lockup problems in the subject line.  
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Buggyman on February 23, 2003, 03:02:54 pm
chpalmer,
Since this whole subject is not CableNut related I'm going to move it down to the General Tech Support Forum.
Feel free to start a new thread in the General Tech Support Forum and just lable it "(the name of your video card) Problems"

Thanks!
Buggy  ;D
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: chpalmer on February 23, 2003, 05:06:49 pm
Thanx Buggy! :) Maybe some other imput thisway.
Now for a small revelation ::) Cant believe I got caught by this but- I did a memory check with a copy of this test http://www.memtest86.com and what do ya know!!
Seems my ram had a small problem. It was repeated for the same address over and over. I tested each of the two modules seperate to try and find the bad one if any.
Seems a reseat did the trick! (you know how many people ive recomended to, that they reseat all their cards onto the motherboard, to see if that helped their situation?)

Ill have to start over and see if I can reproduce the problem on my end now :P  Robertkk- This might be a good thing for you to try also. just to rule it out.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Buggyman on February 23, 2003, 10:09:41 pm
Wow...
I tried that same test and it showed after the First pass that everything checked out cool. I didn't have the patience for going any longer. The first pass took 45 minutes.
Funny thing though.. it didn't say anything about the Mhz being wrong for my PC (a LONG Story there ::) )
My PC should be using PC 100 Mhz cards but I have a PC133Mhz card in it right now.  ;D
I may run that test again later when I'm not Playing around on the Internet.
As a Administrator.. I must add that using that program is a Do So at your OWN risk. DslNuts or any of it's affilitated programs will not be responsible for any thing that may happen.

Thanks
Buggy  ;D
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: chpalmer on February 23, 2003, 10:19:25 pm
My asus board supports pc133 so thats what Im running with a 200 fsb.  The lockup thing just happened again so I immediately threw in the disk and tried but passed this time, so back to square one. Although Quicktime doesnt lockup on me anymore as it always did before.

Yea- that program is not for the faint of heart. But neat configuration settings. Just note, if you choose say "2 (pick test)" it will go back to main config screen after you choose your test(s). You have to push 0 (cancel) for it to take.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Buggyman on February 27, 2003, 11:02:19 am
Well... There is an update on my end. The wifeys Power pack died this morning. So maybe that was the problem.. it was slowly dying and finally snapped this morning. She had another lock up last night and shut it down. Only to find it wouldn't boot up this morning. :(
So I'm off to go buy another case with a new power pack.
Will keep you up to date.
Buggy  ;D
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: dannjr on March 01, 2003, 02:51:30 pm

Well... There is an update on my end. The wifeys Power pack died this morning. So maybe that was the problem.. it was slowly dying and finally snapped this morning. She had another lock up last night and shut it down. Only to find it wouldn't boot up this morning. :(
So I'm off to go buy another case with a new power pack.
Will keep you up to date.
Buggy  ;D


I told you not to use the Vacuam in the machine  ;D

Lockups freeze conditions = voltage or a program thats mismatched
Gaming smooth = Linux = Ask Bimmer
Nvidia = replace with ATI. some of the Nvidia cards cause lockups and freeze conditions. I have 2 on a shelve here and three that have been sold because the persons wouldnt listen and I wasnt about to argue with them. Plus I needed the room.
memory mismatch = strange things.
Computers that dont start in the morning = Buggymans fault  ;D
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Robertkk on March 01, 2003, 02:58:35 pm


Nvidia = replace with ATI. some of the Nvidia cards cause lockups and freeze conditions. I have 2 on a shelve here and three that have been sold because the persons wouldnt listen and I wasnt about to argue with them. Plus I needed the room.


 For real? hehe I have an Nvidia Vanta, and I guess I will replace it with an ATI card very soon.  

 Also I have emailed Dark Age Of Camelot's technical support email and threatened to withdraw my 11.99 per month unless they find a solution to my problem lol =)

 We'll see how things go.

 Also, I have recreated this problem by scrolling up and down a graphics-intensive webpage, so it's not just in video games.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: dannjr on March 01, 2003, 03:32:05 pm



Nvidia = replace with ATI. some of the Nvidia cards cause lockups and freeze conditions. I have 2 on a shelve here and three that have been sold because the persons wouldnt listen and I wasnt about to argue with them. Plus I needed the room.


 For real? hehe I have an Nvidia Vanta, and I guess I will replace it with an ATI card very soon.  

 Also I have emailed Dark Age Of Camelot's technical support email and threatened to withdraw my 11.99 per month unless they find a solution to my problem lol =)

 We'll see how things go.

 Also, I have recreated this problem by scrolling up and down a graphics-intensive webpage, so it's not just in video games.

The diferance between the ATI Radeon and Nvidea on Bomber run You can read and see 4 times as much with the ATI
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: chpalmer on March 01, 2003, 09:59:27 pm
Thanks Dannjr for the input and thanks also Robertkk for starting this post here, as Id kinda just given in for a bit. I think ATI for me also.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Robertkk on March 02, 2003, 02:45:01 pm
  I just got a new gfx card, The discount store I went to only had Nvidia so I bought an Nvidia Geforce 2 mx 64 MB for 50 bucks.  Haven't tested it yet, pray for me.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Robertkk on March 02, 2003, 04:07:00 pm
  STILL HAPPENS, ARRGHH.





             i'm reinitializing my HD, I hope its just some retarded software conflict that's doing this since I doubt it's hardware.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: chpalmer on March 03, 2003, 11:40:51 pm
Whats your color set to?
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Robertkk on March 04, 2003, 04:50:18 am
16 bit colors (medium) on a 800x600 pixel resolution.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Micro on March 04, 2003, 10:52:33 am
Robertkk -

Is your Indexing Service turned on?

Is your Nvidia Driver Help turned on?

And do you have MS Office installed and FastFind active?

If any of the above, you may wish to try your gaming with them deactivated.

Just a thought.  ;)
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Buggyman on March 04, 2003, 11:58:20 am

Robertkk -

1.) Is your Indexing Service turned on?

2.)Is your Nvidia Driver Help turned on?

3.)And do you have MS Office installed and FastFind active?

If any of the above, you may wish to try your gaming with them deactivated.

Just a thought.  ;)


The wifeys pc has # 3  on and I don't know what #1 is. But she doesn't do gaming. She has a ATI card.. it's old but it's been good so far. the software for it is current.
Today I've de-activated her scanner's power source and FlatBed Program to see how it does today.
Funny thing I notice is the Fast Find was listed twice in her Program running list window. I thought it was odd that a startup program would do a dual run. ???
Time will find out I'm sure

Buggy  ;D
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: chpalmer on March 04, 2003, 11:36:35 pm
Robertkk-
Just replaced my nvidia with a SIS 315p from EliteGroup, 64mb sdram card. Ive tried all night to cause my lockups and have had no success. Time will tell, but Im thinking that there may be some kind of incompatibility going on.
This is the first time in weeks that I havent had at least two lockups in the time Im on. Ill let you know if anything changes, and good luck. By the way, Ive had no response from any e-mails to the manufactures involved with the vid-card...


Buggy- Ive had this with fastfind on my parents computer (2 instances running). Also removed a bunch of spyware at the same time. Lockups (blue screens on theirs) stopped.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: dannjr on March 05, 2003, 12:01:44 am

Robertkk-
Just replaced my nvidia with a SIS 315p from EliteGroup, 64mb sdram card. Ive tried all night to cause my lockups and have had no success. Time will tell, but Im thinking that there may be some kind of incompatibility going on.
This is the first time in weeks that I havent had at least two lockups in the time Im on. Ill let you know if anything changes, and good luck. By the way, Ive had no response from any e-mails to the manufactures involved with the vid-card...


Buggy- Ive had this with fastfind on my parents computer (2 instances running). Also removed a bunch of spyware at the same time. Lockups (blue screens on theirs) stopped.


My personal opinion is that the old vidio card and maybe the driver but I lean more toward the memory set on the card itself, that causes the problem with lockups.
Amot like putting a 8 meg AGP vidio card or pci video card on a athlon. They can lock up too
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Buggyman on March 05, 2003, 09:02:13 am
Ok.. Last night I installed the system monitor on her pc and watch some of the resources being use. I know it's not actuate but it does a good job of showing what your puter is doing.
throughtout the whole time it was showing spikes that look like spikes on a Crown. I tried shutting down startup programs one by one to see if it would stop. It never did. It did reduce the Height of the spikes but they we're consant even when the only thing running was Explorer and Systray.
Also.. while down to nothing running.. the mouse did that stop and go lurching around but it never froze up.
So.. all in all.. I'm looking at the old 16 bit flatbed scanner or the old ATI video card.
The watch continues!

Buggy  ;D
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: mnosteele on March 05, 2003, 10:59:31 am
After reading through this thread carefully I put my money on Comcrap. All the Comcrap proprietary software that is running on your pc is causing the problem, I have had many pcs with the same type of problems.... all were due to proprietary software i.e. Comcrap, Sony and Dell are the main three. Comcrap is the absolute worst with their software integrating where it shouldn't be, they are just as bad as AOHELL. The only sure fire way to remove it is to reformat and reinstall 2K with an original 2K disk, not the "restore disks" you get with allot of those pcs. I have a NVidia Geforce MX440 64MB DDR and use the 42.82 drivers with DX9 and don't have a single problem.

Short of a reformat try the following:

1. First uninstall your current NVidia drivers via add/remove programs then install the 43.00 version.

2. Tweak your card with the NVHardPage TweakUtility.

3. Install DirectX9 (http://www.microsoft.com/windows/directx/downloads/drx90.asp).

Both the 43.00 drivers and the NVHardpage Tweak Utility can be downloaded from Guru3D (http://www.guru3d.com/files/).

:) ;) 8)
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Robertkk on March 05, 2003, 04:50:45 pm
  Do you think you could post a direct link to those download sites? I can't navigate around that site to save my life =x
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: mnosteele on March 05, 2003, 06:47:08 pm
The site doesn't allow you to copy the direct links :(, they are pretty easy to find though.

:) ;)
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: chpalmer on March 07, 2003, 03:32:49 pm
Robertkk-  My problems have gone away with a vid card replacement. I musta had some bad ram on it. Keep us posted on your progress there.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Robertkk on March 08, 2003, 02:06:27 pm
  My problem was still present with the new card, I am going to try the installation/reinstallation of the drivers and then using the tweaking utility. I already have directx9 installed.

The only CD I have to reinstall everything from scratch is the one I got with my compaq bundle.  Where can I get this one that doesn't have compaq software/BS on it? =)  I still have my windows xp serial key and the weird authentication certificate that came with the bundle.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Robertkk on March 08, 2003, 03:10:03 pm
 didnt go away after I uninstalled drivers, installed new ones, installed nvhardware tweak and ran it, even with new facking grfx card.  

where do I get that re-format cd.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: chpalmer on March 08, 2003, 09:10:58 pm
I wonder if theres a compatibility issue going on.
My ASUS a7v-e has a via chipset on it with a 200fsb with support for pc133 memory. I have a 1 gig AMD chip and run pretty basic.

Any of that sound familar??  You were running the same card I was before your swap, but you still have NVidia, right?  Nvidia is a good chipset for the mostpart.

Did you try the memtest86 program? We can help you there if needed...
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: chpalmer on March 09, 2003, 02:39:37 pm
Also- did you try removing the Comcast software as Mnosteele suggested? He can correct me here but I dont think you need it to be online.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Buggyman on March 09, 2003, 04:40:50 pm
Er.. I might mention... mnosteele was refering to "Compaq" not Comcast.
There are ways to un-compaq your compaq puter and make it a "Normal" puter without needing the so call compaq disk.
I only know of one person who has done this successfully and I wouldn't ask him to feed my dog anymore.
But on the serious side.. Think about these things
One.. is the Compaq still on warrenty?
Two.. Is it worth it to de-compaq the compaq.
Three.. Make sure.. and I mean MAKE SURE.. that the person who tells you how to do de-compaq the compaq knows what they are talking about. Done wrong can make matters worse than they all ready are.
Another alternative is to find someone who has had better luck with resolving compaq issues.
Good Luck in whatever you decide.

On my end..
we narrowed the scanner's power source as being the problem so far. I was finally able to get the printers USB problem resolved and break the daisy chained printer/scanner shared data feeds separated.
The slowness continues til I uplugged the power source to the scanner. Once I unplugged the power source to scanner.. the lock ups stopped.
So far things are working fine.

Buggy  ;D
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: chpalmer on March 09, 2003, 05:45:15 pm
Dont I feel stupid ::) That's probably whats wrong with one of the computers at work.. oh well, thanx for the correction there.
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: mnosteele on March 09, 2003, 06:18:04 pm
Comcraps (Compaqs) are the worst computers I work on, they have so much proprietary software preinstalled and hardware and cause so many problems. I would put money on a reformat and reinstall would solve all the problems here.

:) ;D
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Robertkk on March 10, 2003, 02:13:10 pm
  Im fully ready to reformat and reinstall but the only reinstall disk I have has a compaq logo on it lol =(  Where can I get a windows XP clean install disc?
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: mnosteele on March 10, 2003, 02:38:39 pm
You would have to buy one and the cheapest place I know of is EastOutlet.com (http://www.eastoutlet.com/allframes.htm).

:) ;D
Title: Re:Computer Troubles-WEIRD
Post by: Robertkk on March 10, 2003, 05:12:20 pm
 I cry  :(